Annual Meeting & Awards Taskforce March 15, 2012 @ 9:00 a.m. Teleconference Call Absent

<u>Present</u>

Cindy Moon Darrell Roegge Dean Johnson, ISWCDEA RC Co-Chair Debra Slade, ISWCDEA AC Co-Chair Jody Christiansen, NRCS Marty McManus, IDOA Mike Rahe, IDOA Sherry Finn Van Bitner, Chairman Aaron Ferguson Colleen Bogner, Auxiliary David McCormick James Todd Jane Brangenberg Jannifer Powelson Judy Beyers, Auxiliary Lonnie Wilson Marie Bunting, Auxiliary Rich Nichols Shelley Finfrock Terry Davis Tess Ferguson, Auxiliary Tom Beyers

Call to order:

Van Bitner called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

Roll Call:

Sherry Finn took roll call; 9 members present and 14 members absent.

Agenda Approval:

Van Bitner asked for any agenda updates; Darrell Roegge motioned for approval of agenda, Debi Slade seconded; MCVV.

New Business:

Logo Selection: Motion made by Darrell Roegge and seconded by Cindy Moon for the silhouette farm logo submitted by DeKalb County; MCVV.

Hotel Registration: Sherry Finn reported the hotel registration will be available on April 15, 2012 through June 29, 2012 or block of rooms sold out; room rates are \$70 plus tax and only an 800 number will be available to make reservations. If members want a room at the Ramada across the street, they will need to phone the 800 number for the Northfield and request to be connected to the Ramada. There are 90 rooms available at the Northfield and 40 rooms at the Ramada. Hotel 800 number will be made available to Districts when the Registration forms for the 64th AISWCD Annual Meeting are sent out via e-mail. This will take place on April 15, 2012.

Hotel Meeting Rooms: The conference rooms are all reserved for training sessions and meetings. Any meeting room accessibility and equipment requirements need to be turned into Sherry at the Association office by April 1, 2012.

Conference Registration: Sherry Finn reported there will be two registration forms for the Annual Meeting/Summer Conference; one for meals and one for sessions and meetings. These will be available on April 15, 2012 and registrations can be made until June 29, 2012 with a \$40 registration fee and from June 30, until July 15, 2012 with a \$50 late registration fee; there will be no refunds after July 8, 2012.

Name Tags: Sherry Finn reported there will be a name tag for each registered person and they must be worn at all times unless a member or employee has a photo ID tag, then this may be used in place of name tag. Each participant will need to have their name tag and ticket to enter a meal or session.

Old Business:

Opening Ceremonies: Van Bitner reported everything is in place at this time.

Recognition luncheon: Van Bitner reported all is well with event planning here also; Auxiliary is hosting; Jerry Snodgrass, Education FAC Chairman has agreed to MC; Awards applications have been sent out to Districts and are on the AISWCD website; Awards will be ordered in June after winner selections are made for the categories at June QB meeting; Photos of winners at Annual Meeting will be handled by Jody Christiansen, NRCS; Sponsors have been secured for all awards.

Director Training: This is being presented again with modules and instruction is being handled by Jerry Snodgrass, Lee Bunting, and Terry Bogner.

Employee Training: This is being handled by ISWCDEA and Debi Slade and Dean Johnson reported they have everything underway and will have information back to AISWCD office by April 1, 2012 deadline.

Farm Family reception/banquet: The reception will be handled by the Auxiliary and the Farm Family Banquet MC has been secured along with the radios as gifts; Sherry Finn reported they are trying to get a gift for the Winning Farm Family, but are making no promises.

Auction: The check-in and power point are being handled by Shelley Finfrock of DeWitt County again this year; the Auctioneer and the backup auctioneer have been secured.

Soil Stewardship Luncheon: This is being handled by the Auxiliary again this year and their theme will be Soil to Spoon.

Volunteers: Cindy Moon will be taking care of this again this year and the Employees Association will be having a teleconference call in May where she will try to obtain a large portion of them. There was discussion about IDOA handling the Registration area and since Judy Cordier's retirement, Mike Rahe reported he would have to check with Steve Chard to see if someone could be available to do the Registration from IDOA. Mike Rahe did report that IDOA would be able to print the programs. Mike will let Sherry know by next week about the Registration.

Partners: Sherry Finn reported partner invitations would go out at the end of March or early April to ask them to present at the Opening Ceremonies and/or the Annual Meeting; they would also be invited to take part in the meeting sessions at the Commons Room-something new this year.

Debi Slade asked about the availability of vans if the ISWCDEA has a nature tour during the Annual Meeting for attendees not taking part in the Annual Meeting. Sherry Finn reported they had secured the hotel van and driver for both days (this holds 6 people), the AISWCD van (this holds 6 people), and Rich Nichols had confirmed with IDNR Director, Marc Miller for their van and driver for both days (this holds 15 people). Rich has not been in contact with IEPA yet, but hopes to be able to obtain their 15 passenger van also. Sherry Finn asked Mike Rahe if IDOA has a van and he did not think they did anymore. Debi felt these would be enough and people could follow behind with their cars too.

Sherry Finn asked the Employees Association how large of rooms they were going to need for each session, the consensus was not larger than 40; Sherry also asked Dean Johnson if they were going to need a meal for the CPESC training and he said they would not.

Next Meeting Date: Monday, June 11, 2012 at the AISWCD June quarterly board meeting during the Planning FAC meeting at 1:00 p.m. Sherry Finn and Van Bitner informed the group that they would try to set up a teleconference call at this meeting for those unavailable to attend in person.

Adjournment:

Motion to adjourn made by Darrell Roegge; meeting ended at 9:48 a.m.

Minutes taken and submitted by:

Sherry Finn, AISWCD Administrative Assistant