2013 Illinois State Envirothon Competition

May 1st – 2nd, 2013 Monticello, Illinois

The 19th Annual Illinois State Envirothon Contest was held in Monticello, IL on May 1-2. Sixteen teams participated in this year's contest along with an additional 7 FFA teams to make a total of 23 teams. All Land Use Councils were represented. The following teams represented their Land Use Councils at this year's competition.

Land Use Council 1 - Dakota H.S.	Land Use Council 9 - Auburn H.S.
Land Use Council 2 - Midland H.S.	Land Use Council 10 - Altamont H.S.
Land Use Council 3 - Morris H.S.	Land Use Council 11 - Edwards County H.S.
Land Use Council 4 - Spoon River Valley H.S.	Land Use Council 12 - Triad H.S.
Land Use Council 5 - El Paso-Gridley H.S.	Land Use Council 13 – Sandoval H.S.
Land Use Council 6 - Paxton-Buckley-Loda H.S.	Land Use Council 14 - Vienna H.S.
Land Use Council 7 - Shiloh H.S.	Land Use Council 15 - Dongola H.S.
Land Use Council 8 - A-C Central H.S.	Land Use Council 16 - Glenbrook South H.S.

This year was the second year to include the top placing FFA team if they were not already the winning team. This had been a complaint over the past several years that some FFAs are not given the chance to compete in their state contest and represent their LUC area. The FFA only teams competed on Wednesday only and went through the five station rotation. The scores were kept on those five exams. The following FFA teams competed on Wednesday in the FFA only contest.

Land Use Council 2 – Sherrard H.S. Land Use Council 3 – Ottawa H.S. Land Use Council 4 – ROWVA H.S. Land Use Council 7 – Kansas H.S. Land Use Council 9 – Staunton H.S. Land Use Council 13 – Odin H.S. Land Use Council 16 – Kaneland H.S.

Each of the teams participating listened to a presentation about the five category areas of aquatics, forestry, soils, wildlife, and the current issue, Sustainable Rangeland Management, and were then tested on that area. The category winners in each of the areas were:

Aquatics – Glenbrook South H.S. Forestry – Triad H.S. Soils – Shiloh H.S. Wildlife – Dakota H.S. 5th Category Test – Sandoval H.S.

Each team was also given a scenario relating to the current issue and given three hours to prepare a fifteen minute presentation. The winning school in the oral presentation this year was **Triad High School**.

On the first day of the competition, each Land Use Council wore shirts that they designed /made themselves. Each team has the chance to see everyone's shirts and vote on their favorite shirt. The winning t-shirt this year was Auburn High School. Another award that is given out is a Team Spirit award. On the second day of competition, each team gets the opportunity to vote on which team had the most team spirit. Shiloh High School was selected by the rest of their peers for this prize.

During testing on the first day of the competition, Cynthia Haskins from the Illinois Farm Bureau made a presentation to all the teachers and chaperones discussing next year's fifth category topic, Sustainable Local Agriculture/Locally Grown. This gives the teachers an idea of what they will need to start preparing for next year's contest.

After all of the scores were totaled the following schools came out as the overall winners. In third place was Spoon River Valley High School. Placing second this year was Glenbrook South High School. Edwards County High School was the highest placing FFA team that will get to go on to the national competition in October at the National FFA Convention in Louisville, KY. The overall winner at the 19th Illinois State Envirothon for the second year in a row was Triad High School.

The oral presentation judging can be a difficult task at times but luckily we had the following individuals helping us out this year who did a great job effortlessly: Mariah Dale-Anderson, Timothy Berry, Dick Breckenridge, Deborah Cavanaugh-Grant, Jody Christiansen, Charla Coombe, Christine Davis, Mary Dawson, Rich Howell, Jonathon Manuel, Jim Nelson, Paige Mitchell-Buck, Rich Nichols, Debbie Ruff, Kay Shipman, and Jennifer Waters.

We had great presenters on the first day of the competition as well. Everything ran very smoothly and the kids learned a lot. Without these individuals, we would not have been able to do it. This year's presenters were:

Aquatics – Mike Garthaus Forestry – Curt Sinclair Soils – Roger Windhorn Wildlife – Denny Kirkham 5th Category – Kent Macy

Everything seemed to run smoothly. We had great help from our volunteers this year with a total of 30 assisting us with the competition. We could not have done everything without the following list of volunteers: Amy Ishmael, Burke Davies, Debi Slade, Denise Willenborg, Derra Williams, Diane Freeman, Gina Bean, Glenda Cox, Jake Vancil, Jane Brangenberg, Jason Bleich, Jeremy Pruden, Jim Nelson, Judy Meislahm, Keith Livesay, Kelly Thompson, Kristie Coolie, Lisa Bright, Lorna Chezem, Mary Dawson, Megan Andrews, Melissa Cauble, Mindy Pratt, Renee Weitekamp, Shelly Seman, Sondra Baker, Stephanie Musselman, Tara Hopkins, Thomas Harris, and Tonya Canania.

We do not have any changes for next year just a few minor things here and there. As previously mentioned the competition went very well from our point of view and we received many gracious compliments from the volunteers, students, teachers, judges, camp staff, and committee members. We also received many thank yous from FFA teams for allowing them the opportunity to attend the state contest. Some of them never get a chance since a non-FFA team is so strong and always wins their LUC contest. We are looking forward to organizing next year's competition. The corresponding dates for next year are April 30-May 1, but the committee still needs to approve that.

Thank you!

Respectfully Submitted,

Brooke

Brooke Baker

Illinois Envirothon Co-Coordinator Administrative Coordinator Grundy County SWCD

Natalie

Natalie Mahler

Illinois Envirothon Co-Coordinator Resource Conservationist Grundy County SWCD